BFF’s

I have to start on a bit of a rant.  I hate the term BFF.  It has always been a challenge for me.  Maybe because when I was in grammar school and high school I needed one so desperately I held on too tight.  My BFF eventually got married and walked out of my life in spite of the fact that she is Godmother to my children.  It was at that time that I began examining the term “best friends.”  I decided at that time that I didn’t need one.  I was an adult now.  Best friends were for children.  But as I raised my kids and had relationships with other women I would often hear people referring to their best friend.  One person I came across called her best friend her “soulmate”.  That was a little much for me. 

Don’t get me wrong, I know lots of people who are best friends as adults and that’s great for them.  For me it’s always been a term that’s not inclusive.  There’s a part of me some days that longs for a best friend, but then I realize that I have so many of them.  I just didn’t realize it.

I had lunch with an old friend today.  She’s not old, we’ve just known each other forever.  We went to high school together.  I just adore her.  We live a few cities apart and our lives have become full over the years so we only get to see each other a few times a year but when we do it’s like no time at all has past.  She knew me when I was a 16 year old, boy crazed, teenage, cheerleader.  She can cut to the chase with me like no one else.  Our lunches or dinners usually run about 3 hours full of laughing and tears and me wishing we lived closer.  Then there is another friend.  She is so much like me.  I can pick up the phone and “vent” to her at any time and she gets me.  I have friends that I sew with, friends that I craft with, friends that I do bible study with and friends that I do life with.  My life is so full in the friendship department. 

As I left lunch today I was thinking about Best Friends.  I think God realized that no one person could be my best friend.  I’m too much work!  So he sent a village of best friends who all speak into different areas of my life.  Is that cool or what?

About flyingheartranch

I'm a wife, mother, daughter, domestic goddess and a daughter of the King. I have 4 children and my life is beyond full. I have recently gone through a loss. This blog is about my process of working through it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

