Weddings and Funerals.

The past couple of weeks has been crazy. My daughter had the wedding of her dreams a week ago, my son will have the wedding of his dreams in 2 days and in the midst I attended a funeral.  That’s life right?  Celebration and mourning all at the same time.

As I sat at this funeral for my friend’s brother, I listened to the stories about his life.  There were silly stories and heartfelt stories but there was one common thread.  Everyone talked about how well this man loved.  Everyone who expressed their grief felt incredibly loved by this man.  What a legacy!  They didn’t speak of is accomplishments as much as they spoke of how he loved.

Weddings can be like funerals for a Mom.  It’s the end of the line for us Mom’s.  We are releasing our child into marriage and adulthood.  You sit there watching your child get married and the whole time you are thinking “did I do everything right?  Did I do everything I needed to do?”  When in fact the only question that really matters is “did I love them well?”  If I loved them well, they will be able to in turn love others well, most importantly their spouse.  At the same time you are overwhelmed with this intense feeling of love for your child, your spouse and all the amazing people who came out to walk you through that day.  It’s a beautiful thing.

I’ve often heard it said that the bible can be summed up in one word “love”.  1 Corinthians 13:13 – And now these three remain: faith, hope and love.  But the greatest of these is love.” John 13:35 – “by this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.”

At the end of my life what is going to matter is how I loved.  Not what I did, or where I went.  Not my political stance, or my social status. Not what I did well or what I messed up.  What’s going to matter is how I loved.  When I look down from Heaven (I hope God will let me eavesdrop on my funeral) I want to hear people talking about how loved they felt by me, especially my children and my husband.  And after we listen to all the people talking about how well I loved them, then the Lord will turn to me and say, “well done good and faithful servant.” Then the real wedding feast can begin!

About flyingheartranch

I'm a wife, mother, daughter, domestic goddess and a daughter of the King. I have 4 children and my life is beyond full. I have recently gone through a loss. This blog is about my process of working through it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

