Mom University

As Mother’s Day approaches I think of all the women who have spoken into my life teaching me how to be a woman, a wife and a mother.  The first on the list had to be Mrs. Kim. She was my best friend in high school’s mom.  Mrs. Kim taught me about hospitality.  She was always thrilled to see you.  She always had some kind of feast going on the stove and her kitchen table was always full.  She was a safe haven for me and taught me so much.

My friend Stacey taught me about loyalty and loving even when it’s hard.  I walked with her through her journey to have a child.  I watched her faith and her strength on her journey to be a mother.

My friend Lynne taught me about the fierce love of a mother.  I have prayed with her for her kids and watched her love them, even when they have rejected her love or hurt her.  Her mother’s heart has always been strong and fiercely loyal.

My friend Lyz and Karen have taught me so much about unconditional love.  That’s one I struggle with.  I watch them love the unloveable ones, forgive the unforgivable and do it all with beautiful grace.

My friend Becky has taught me that a woman doesn’t need to have children to be a mother.  Becky has taught me so much about peace, contentment and joy.  She is always kind, always faithful and so loyal.  I have learned from her how to honor my husband.  She is the best example I know of God’s grace. I often say I would like to be Becky when I grow up.

My friends Gidget and Michelle walked me through a very difficult time in my life, which was equally painful for them.  They protected me and supported me but more importantly saw through me straight to my heart.  They’ve taught me so much about forgiveness.

My husband’s cousins Ricky and Tobie also taught me about fierce love.  They came alongside us during a very painful time and made a fortress around us to protect us.  They check on me and love me as if they were my own sisters and they love and adore my children.

Sharon met me 20 some odd years ago and right away she could see I needed a Mom.  This is not unusual for her.  She is Mom to many people.  She has cried with me, laughed with me, called me out when I was wrong and built me up when I needed it. She has always believed in me and seen potential in me. Not only has she loved me and taught me, but she’s loved and taught my family as well.  She has influenced the women I’ve become and I’m very proud of that.

There are so many women that have spoken into my life.  Too many to name here.  But the most beautiful example was at the recent weddings of my children.  I had no extended family there, all of these women plus others without being asked walked up and filled the family section.  I have the most beautiful family pictures from both weddings of all these amazing women who have come along side me and my family to strengthen us.  It is a beautiful reminder of how God replaces what is missing.

Women are powerful.  We have the power to build up, or tear down.  We have the power to teach and influence.  We have the power to love.  As Mother’s Day approaches, think about the women that have influenced your life and tell me about them!

About flyingheartranch

I'm a wife, mother, daughter, domestic goddess and a daughter of the King. I have 4 children and my life is beyond full. I have recently gone through a loss. This blog is about my process of working through it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment