I have a savior complex…

Oh yes, it’s true.  I freely admit it.  I have a savior complex.  I believe with enough love, I can save anyone and anything.

This most recently manifested in my life when I tried to rescue a business.  I put my heart and soul into it and I was sure that as long as I put everything I had into it I could save it.  Unfortunately despite all the love I put into it, the lack of funding was ultimately victorious.

Lately I’ve been struggling with one of my favorite verses, 1 Corinthians 13:8 “Love never fails.”  I had this verse posted above the door in my office.  I believed it, and yet ultimately it did fail.  My love failed.  Love does fails.  I have friends who have poured love into their marriages and children only to watch them fail. Love does fail.  It fails hard.  In my case, it fails epically.

Last night I attended #Reviveus2016 put on by Kirk Cameron.  Francis Chan put things into perfect perspective for me.  I will try to give justice to his words.  The man in amazing.  His love for the Lord is so inspiring.

He said that our relationship with God is about being KNOWN by God and about knowing God.  He explained that when we are KNOWN by God he lives inside us so we are a new creation.  (This part I knew). But he went on to explain that when God dwells in us we take on his attributes.  We love deeper, we have compassion, etc.  He explained that’s why we are driven by justice and love.  It’s why when we are holding a foster child it’s so easy to love them because God’s love is flowing through us.  It’s why when we see a homeless person we can see past the dirt and the smell to see their heart because of God dwelling in us.

You see God dwelling in me gives me that burning desire to save people.  God dwelling in me gives me a heart and a passion for the widow and the orphan.  God dwelling in me makes me long to seek justice.  That’s the natural part.  That’s the good part.  The part that I mess up is when I think it’s me who’s doing the saving.  It isn’t.  I could have never saved that business, or a homeless man, or a widow or an orphan. But God in me can.

God is sovereign.  He does as he pleases.  Psalm 135:6.  HIS love never fails.  My love fails a lot if I’m loving out of selfish ambition.  Sometimes God chooses to save.  Sometimes he even uses me to do it.  Sometimes he doesn’t.  Businesses fail, marriages fail, and my love fails, but He is sovereign and His love never fails.  The desire I have to save – that’s a God given desire.  It’s a good thing.  I just have to remember WHO does the saving.

About flyingheartranch

I'm a wife, mother, daughter, domestic goddess and a daughter of the King. I have 4 children and my life is beyond full. I have recently gone through a loss. This blog is about my process of working through it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

