Welcome to the Club

Have you ever been somewhere you knew you didn’t belong?  Someplace maybe that was way out of your league.  I had that experience this past week when I walked into the Riviera Country Club.  I’m volunteering for a golf tournament despite the fact that I know nothing about golf.  I volunteered partly because this was a club I could never enter normally and I wanted to see it!

It’s beautiful.  Old money.  Grand doorways.  Beautiful chandeliers.  Marble floors.  Sprawling greens.  High ceilings. People open the door for you there.  I didn’t belong. You could practically smell the poverty on me.  When I stepped inside I felt underdressed.  Any time I visit a special place like this, I always have to check out the restroom.  That’s always the sign that this is not your normal place.  There are no “paper” towels in the bathroom.  Only the finest Egyptian cotton hand towels.  They also have complimentary sunscreen, toothbrushes, deodorant, mouthwash and shoe horns.  I’ve never used a shoe horn, but people with lots of money who play golf must need them. I’m sure I would need them if I knew how to play golf, had a lot of money and belonged to the Riviera Country Club.

My first instinct was take all the free stuff I could.  I would load up my purse!  Then maybe take a few selfie’s just to document the fact that I was in fact in this swanky Country Club that I didn’t belong to.  I tried to find the proshop to purchase a t-shirt or a hat so everyone would know that I was there….. once.  I can just imagine myself filling my purse with all the free goodies when and employee walked in, busts me, and explains that I don’t belong there and kicking me out.  I wasn’t kicked out, and I didn’t steal anything.  I cannot confirm or deny any selfie’s however.

There are not many places I feel like I don’t belong anymore.  I’ve learned to act cool for the most part, but there are times when I am just so out of my league.  You know what I mean? Places where the chandeliers cost more that the annual income of a small family. As I was leaving I had a thought. I wonder if heaven isn’t a little like the Riviera Country Club.  Beautiful, dazzling, sparkling and over the top. When I get there I can just imagine myself running to the restroom to fill my purse with all the freebies when Jesus walks in and says, “no need to fill you purse Jeannie.  Your home. It’s all yours.  Welcome to the club.  You can have a t-shirt and a hat – whatever you want.  You belong here.”

Then I begin to think of all my loved ones that have graduated to heaven.  I hope they are all wearing the hat, the t-shirt and the whole deal.  Perhaps the logo would simply be “You Belong.”

About flyingheartranch

I'm a wife, mother, daughter, domestic goddess and a daughter of the King. I have 4 children and my life is beyond full. I have recently gone through a loss. This blog is about my process of working through it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

