Mother’s Day

As a woman who has always had a painful relationship with her mother, and no grandmothers, Mother’s Day has never been my favorite day. Many children of abuse struggle with Mother’s Day or Father’s Day. Don’t get me wrong. When my children were growing up, I loved the homemade presents and the breakfast in bed. But I hate the forced “today we have to celebrate mother” theme of the day. Call me jaded. I always had a hard time celebrating my own mother and I don’t want my children to be forced to celebrate me.

Just because my own relationship with my mother is painful, doesn’t mean I don’t have amazing women in my life who have mothered me in many ways. In high school there was Mrs. Kim, who talked to me about life and love when my own mom couldn’t. Later there was Sharon, who stepped in and assumed the role of Mom in my life. She cheered for me, cried with me and even experienced the birth of my children with me. She comes to every event and is always my biggest cheerleader.

There are so many other women who encourage me in so many ways. Michelle and Gidget who walked with me and stood by me through one of the most painful periods of my life but who also inspire me to always learn new things. Stacey, has been a friend since high school who is always praying for me and my kids and has talked me off a ledge a time or two. Janice and Val who encouraged me to try tennis. Allyssa who taught me to paddleboard in middle age. There is Meredith who always tackles new projects with me, and Lynne who always protects me. There’s Becky and Lyz who do ministry with me. There are my tennis girls who are always reminding me to have fun. There are people I see occasionally and people I see every day. There are so many friends that influence me in so many ways.

That’s what I celebrate at Mother’s Day. I celebrate all the women in my life who have spoken life into me in one way or another. Some wiped my tears. Some made me laugh. Some inspired me. Some just spoke a kind word when I needed it. But if you are reading this, chances are you are one of the women I celebrate this Mother’s Day. I thank God for your influence in my life and the lives of everyone you touch. Happy Mother’s Day!

About flyingheartranch

I'm a wife, mother, daughter, domestic goddess and a daughter of the King. I have 4 children and my life is beyond full. I have recently gone through a loss. This blog is about my process of working through it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment